By default all duplicates are moved to the "Recycle bin" folder. This the safest way and usually shouldn't be changed. But you can also let the program delete the files permanently.
By default the program decides automatically which version of the duplicate should be kept and which one should be deleted. But you may also defined your own rules to define which version you want to keep.