Navigation:  Contents > Introduction >

Introduction to synchronization

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Why synchronize?

Easy2Sync is useful if you have the same files on multiple computers and edit them separately. For example if you have the same files on a PC and a notebook computer. If you edit the files on both computers if can be difficult to keep in mind the location of the most current version.

 

Easy2Sync can do this for you. It will remember which file version was stored on which computer and thus will recognize any changes you made.

 

And how does this work?

In order to have Easy2Sync work, you need to define a task. This could for example be: Keep the folder My Files on my PC in sync with the same folder on my notebook. Easy2Sync will now memorize the current state of the files (file size and time of change) and thus recognizes which files were changed.

 

Sounds easy Is it?

For you as user: Yes. The software on the other hand must obey more than 200 rules and special cases for every single file.
 
You just have to remember one thing: Easy2Sync synchronizes your files. This may have serious consequences, since it cannot understand the reason for your actions. So, if you delete a directory on your notebook in order to get more disk space (Thinking, no need to worry, you have a synchronic copy on your PC), then Easy2Sync will (when synchronizing next time) not restore the data. The opposite will happen: The software will try to get your PC into the same state and thus delete the same folder on your PC, too. (Of course this applies only if you previously instructed Easy2Sync to synchronize these folders.)

 

Note: When you perform an action on one computer, (Doesn't matter if you're creating, editing or deleting), then the same action will be performed on the other computer when synchronizing the next time.

 

Is synchronizing dangerous?

Easy2Sync is a tool, just like a pair of scissors. Used the right way it is perfectly harmless and can be very useful. If you use it the wrong way, you may lose data.

       

How can I play safe?

Make regular copies of your file. Before every synchronization is best.

 

 


Page url: http://www.helpandmanual.com/help/index.html?hid_intro.htm