Navigation:  Special items >

Synchronizing safely

Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

In order to work safely with Easy2Sync, you should obey the following rules:

 

1. Regular backups
You should regularly (before each synchronization would be best) create a copy of your files. This protects you against hard disk defects, unintentional deleting and also for application errors. Easy2Sync was tested extensively, but 100% security against malfunctions can never be guaranteed. Of course, this also applies to the applications you use to edit your files - another reason for backups.
 

2. Correct system time
Make sure that on all computers date and time are set correctly. Easy2Sync may otherwise think a file was up-to-date even though it is really obsolete.
 

3. Cautious Options
You could turn off all safety requests, so that every synchronization is performed quickly and without any requests by the application. But that would be careless, because you might miss important warnings. So consider carefully which warnings you personally need and which not.
 

4. Don't change the same files on both systems
If you modify the same file on two computers, then there is no current version which might be copied to the other computer. If this still happens, you should merge the contents of the two files manually with the respective application. Thats why you shouldnt synchronize database files unless you are sure that the file only changed on one computer. (Easy2Sync doesnt look into files and therefore cannot understand the concept of a database. It knows just files.)
 

5. Don't sync removable devices

If you sync to removable devices (like a rewritable CD) and insert a new, blank device instead of the old one, all files are gone. At least, thats what it looks like to Easy2Sync. How could it know? And since you deleted all files, Easy2Sync will offer you to delete all files at the other position, too.
 

6. Don't synchronize system- or application folders!
You shouldn't try to synchronize folder with programs or even the Windows folder. The reason is, that in addition to the files, links also exist, for example in the Registry. Even though the files are synchronized correctly, the programs still won't work because of the missing links.

 

 

 

 


Page url: http://www.helpandmanual.com/help/index.html?hid_safe.htm